I was trying to make a working nuke clone and i noticed a problem: when i made one almost 100% same as original it should be to work (same projectiles, weapons etc. , but different names and different mouse action) it did work, but when i changed the Payload=NukePayload tag to something else the Nuke caused an IE when the missile going down should appear.
This time I DID check all the coding and it IS ok, everything is as it should be . I even tried to change the WeaponType=NukeCarrier to something else and it worked then, but not when the Payload=NukePayload was modified. And i'm not the only one who's nuke clone doesn't work: Speeder also was trying to make one but it occured an IE in the same moment, so i think it has something to do with the RTB patch. :unsure:
Posts: 731
Threads: 61
Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Reputation:
this report comes at the right time , I'll check it out tomorrow (it's almost 1am so not now).
Can you attach your except.txt please?
Posts: 20
Threads: 1
Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Reputation:
had to register to add it
but here it is:
[attachmentid=63]
Posts: 731
Threads: 61
Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Reputation:
OK, since the except didn't tell me anything and jonwil's code is completely OK, I began thinking, and I got it:
The error occured because the weapon doesn't exist.
YES, you might have introduced its section, but did you remember that weapons only get parsed if they are used by something?
Attach your new payload weapon as a DeathWeapon of some dummy unit (XCOMET for instance) and it will work properly, I just tested it
BTW: NukePayload is used as a DeathWeapon by the nuclear reactor.
Now we have a new reason for that.
Posts: 20
Threads: 1
Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Reputation:
you're right, stupid me
i tried it out and it is working now, sorry for blaming the patch for it :bleh:
Posts: 731
Threads: 61
Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Reputation:
I found out this:
Missing weapon = missing warhead.
Both gives the same IE, and this is the reason:
Invalid weapons aren't a problem at all.
Weapons that couldn't be found will be created at runtime, but without any pointer to a warhead. Since a Warhead with a Null-name doesn't exist, this will cause an error.
This will practically not change anything, but it's knowledge
Edit:
Oh btw, you might get the idea to create a null-warhead like
106=
That doesn't work
Posts: 1 571
Threads: 16
Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Reputation:
lol, full of fun, lol
PD, maybe you should program a null warhead.
Posts: 1 921
Threads: 273
Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Reputation:
Not even if you have the appropriate
[]
section?
Forum Rules
(01.06.2011, 05:43:25)kenosis Wrote: Oh damn don't be disgraced again!
(25.06.2011, 20:42:59)Nighthawk Wrote: The proverbial bearded omni-bug may be dead, but the containment campaign is still being waged in the desert.
Posts: 1 571
Threads: 16
Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Reputation:
lol.
I'm prety sure that the way it works, you atleast need 1 charactor, and since space isn't considered as a charactor in the ini parser, it won't even read a space.
Posts: 31
Threads: 2
Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Reputation:
This shouldn't be a problem for you more knowledgeable users. Just make a real WH that has no real effect, and list it, and it should be fine. Besides, why do you people want a null-warhead? Dummy wwarheads do fine.
Posts: 1 773
Threads: 140
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation:
Because we, more knowledgeable users, can see what the problem is, and you apparently can't.
Posts: 34
Threads: 0
Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Reputation:
null is an empty string. So if someone forgets to list a warhead, it is a null. Now since it doesnt exist in the listing, it cant be used, and crashes.
Posts: 31
Threads: 2
Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Reputation:
Oh, sorry. :oops: I got mixed up.
i have a suggestion. How about a missing warheads are to be automatically replaced with an existing warhead, one that exists in the inis. Although this might make that warhead unusable during gameplay except for the unit with a missing WH, it might fix the problem.
Posts: 20
Threads: 0
Joined: 1 Feb 2005
Reputation:
02.12.2005, 17:26:40
(This post was last modified: 02.12.2005, 17:34:36 by C00L DuDe.)
or how about a warhead named [null] (instead of [] )
now it is a legal string
another option: reprogram the engine to look for some dummy warhead (like [emptyWH] or something ) instead of looking for an empty warhead
GAMEMD.EXE - the hidden part must be hacked
Posts: 34
Threads: 0
Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Reputation:
While "null" may be a legal string, the character null is defined as 0x0.
|