Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Good night, everybody.
I just lay in my bed for about an hour trying to sleep. I failed, 'cause my sleep cycle is shifted too far. Lying there, I started to think. About me, my engagement in the community, my experiences of the last few days, and, last but not least, the state of the community itself.

To say it out loud right at the beginning: I'm not sure I want to be a YR/RA2 modder anymore. I'm not sure I want to spend my time in this community anymore.

Let me elaborate. I started modding RA2 back in 2001. I was a newb, but other than the lazy, arrogant suckers of today, I didn't get online and expect to be served with a bible to modding. I learned through the ini and its comments. I knew of the Guide's existence, but never actually read it, because the comments answered any question I'd have. Up until weird shit happened. I checked once. I checked twice. I reverted, reverted more, cursed myself for not having done more backups. But nothing helped. I would add perfectly fine unit, the AI would go crazy. I'd take them out, everything would work. Oh well. By then, Yuri's Revenge was out and already in my possession, so I restarted the mod, this time for YR. Everything was fine again.

Until it happened again. The same shit. The same code auditing, the same reverts, the same curses. Finally, I gave up. For the first time ever, posted a real request for help at DZ.

Oh hell did I get beaten.