Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Scenes From the Past
Hello all.

My name is Eric Horodyski AKA Mr. Damnation AKA Killerkidd. If that name rings a bell to you then you must have been in this community a long time. If not, here's my story:

Currently, I'm a fourth-year student of Computer Science and freelance web designer after working for a local company for a year and needing to quit to focus on school (I like throwing that part out there, makes me feel legit).

Previously, in what seems like a past life after all these years and repressed memories, I used to be one of the longest active community members of the Command and Conquer Modding Scene. What did I do of importance? Nothing really from the modding side. But I was in it from old RA2Mods.com days, when RaGe owned the site and I submitted my "Nuclear Animals" mod. It was fun, it was unbalanced, and my first thread of "How do you make a nuclear cow?" wasn't perceived very well.

From there I had side projects, none successful, through the eras of FedNET and Eclipse. As a young, stupid teenager, somehow I not only kept myself from being banned from those places, but even got into a position of "respect" when FedNET closed down and Stardust Studios was launched. Personally, I blame myself for the destruction of SDS. I was overly ambitious and couldn't deliver on the ideas and motions I wanted to put into place. In fact, that's one of the reasons I left my "pro web design" job -- I was the only web designer there and had limited knowledge of these new powerful tools like Drupal that we needed to use, and no time to learn with school there. I couldn't complete those projects with a one man team who has to study for Physics and Data Structures on top of work. But that's another story. Either way, SDS was doomed from the get-go. We had good ideas, but no structure, and the people in power who weren't on the technical side lost interest because the work on our side was slow.