The internet is a lawless place with knowledge and sarcastic wit the pistols of this wild frontier.
Don't go out without being sufficiently armed.

~Blade

Other places

Ares (Current version: 0.B)

Ares's primary facilities have been moved elsewhere:

  • If you wish to report a bug in Ares, please proceed to its bugtracker.
  • If you'd like to request a feature, register a blueprint.
  • If you have questions or can provide answers regarding Ares's usage, visit the Q&A section.
  • Before you post a new question, you should check the FAQ, though.

Behavior

  • Mind the forum rules.
  • Due to its documentedly horrible quality, we do not offer NPatch support.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Deployed tank problems...
Author Message
Private Whiteboy Offline
WR Warlord
*****
Members

Posts: 775
Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Reputation: 2
Post: #1
 
Hi all, I've run into a problem with a vehicle deploying into a structure that attacks airborne targets. It's the familiar Tesla Tank, and I've made it deploy into an AA Tesla Coil of sorts. When deployed into the building though, there are problems.

1. Engineers cannot repair the building even with Repiarable=yes.

2. Repairing vehicles get the repair cursor but cannot actually repair it (it's not even supposed to get the cursor - this is a structure).

3. You can select the structure with a drag, as if it's a deploted artillery from TS.

4. When you undeploy, i.e. move the structure, eva says "New rally point established".


Here is the code, ignore the weapons, they are merely placeholders:

Vehicle

Code:
; Tesla Tank for Russians
[TTNK]
UIName=Name:TTNK
Name=Tesla Tank
;UIName=Stealth Tesla Tank
;Name=Stealth Tesla Tank
Prerequisite=NAWEAP,NARADR,CARUFGL
PrerequisiteOverride=CATIME02
DeploysInto=STINGER;NATSLA3;TESLA
Primary=TankBolt
Strength=300
Category=AFV
Armor=heavy
Turret=yes
IsTilter=yes
TooBigToFitUnderBridge=true
TechLevel=10
Sight=8
Speed=6
CrateGoodie=yes
Crusher=yes
Owner=Russians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,YuriCo​untry,British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance
RequiredHouses=Russians
Cost=2000;1750
Soylent=1300
Points=30
ROT=5
IsSelectableCombatant=yes
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUM​U60
VoiceSelect=TeslaTankSelect
VoiceMove=TeslaTankMove
VoiceAttack=TeslaTankAttackCommand
CrushSound=TankCrush
VoiceFeedback=
DieSound=GenVehicleDie
MoveSound=TeslaTankMoveStart
DeploySound=PlaceBuilding
Maxdebris=3
Locomotor={4A582741-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
;MovementZone=Normal;gs FLAW needs to be changed to this when The Flaw is fixed
MovementZone=Destroyer
ThreatPosed=40; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
DamageSmokeOffset=100, 100, 275
Weight=3.5
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
Accelerates=false
ZFudgeColumn=8
ZFudgeTunnel=13
Size=3
ElitePrimary=TankBoltE
BuildTimeMultiplier=1.0;0.9;Individual control of build time
Cloakable=yes
Cloakstop=yes

Structure

Code:
;Tesla Stinger (AA only)
[STINGER]
UIName=Name:STINGER
Name=Tesla Stinger
Image=NATSLA3
BuildCat=Combat
Prerequisite=NAWEAP,NARADR,CARUFGL
Strength=760;600
Armor=steel
UndeploysInto=TTNK
TechLevel=-1
Adjacent=4
Sight=6
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,Ru​ssians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs,YuriCountry
RequiredHouses=Russians
AIBasePlanningSide=1;gs 0 for Good, 1 for Evil
Cost=2000;1750
Points=30
Power=0
Crewed=no
Capturable=false
;Overpowerable=true
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUM​U60
;DestroyAnim=NATSLADM
;Primary=StingerBolt
Primary=EiffelBolt; of DEATH
Secondary=TTAAlaser;TTAAlaser;Medusa2E
;Secondary=OPStingerBolt
Turret=no
;TurretAnimZAdjust=-100
DebrisAnim=Dbris1sm,Dbris1lg,Dbris4sm,Dbris5sm,Dbr​is4lg,Dbris7sm,Dbris8sm,Dbris5lg,Dbris4lg
MaxDebris=15
MinDebris=5
ThreatPosed=40; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGr​eySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=96, 64, 112
;IsBaseDefense=yes
BaseNormal=no
Powered=no
;HasStupidGuardMode=false
WorkingSound=PowerOn
NotWorkingSound=PowerOff
ImmuneToPsionics=no; defaults to yes for buildings, no for others
Drainable=no
AntiInfantryValue=0
AntiArmorValue=0
AntiAirValue=25
;gs these three are in abstract units and just help the AI pick the right base defense. (see AIForcePredictionFudge)
HasRadialIndicator=true
ConcentricRadialIndicator=true
;BuildTimeMultiplier=0.75
;LightVisibility=1000
;LightIntensity=0.03
;LightRedTint=1.5;3
;LightGreenTint=0.01
;LightBlueTint=0.01
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
EliteAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF,SIGHT
Trainable=yes
AIBuildThis=no
LandTargeting=1
NavalTargeting=6
Repairable=true
ClickRepairable=no
SelfHealing=yes

Art code for Tesla Stinger

Code:
;Tesla Stinger
[NATSLA3]
Cameo=FTSLICON;TSLAICON
Image=NATSLA3
Remapable=yes
Foundation=1x1
Height=7;5
Buildup=NATSLA3MK
DemandLoadBuildup=true
FreeBuildup=true
PrimaryFireFLH=50,0,400
SecondaryFireFLH=50,0,400
NewTheater=yes
ActiveAnim=NATSLA3_A
ActiveAnimDamaged=NATSLA3_AD
ActiveAnimZAdjust=-30
ActiveAnimPowered=no; SJM: This means anim goes away when underpowered
ActiveAnimPoweredLight=yes; SJM: This means anim goes away when underpowered
SpecialAnim=NATSLA3_B
SpecialAnimDamaged=NATSLA3_BD
SpecialAnimZAdjust=-30
SpecialAnimPowered=no; SJM: This means anim goes away when underpowered
SpecialAnimPoweredLight=yes; SJM: This means anim goes away when underpowered
IsAnimDelayedFire=yes; SJM: Firing anim (SpecialAnim) delays firing of weapon
DelayedFireDelay=28 ; SJM: Must match playback of anim, and ideally audio too
CanBeHidden=False
OccupyHeight=4
DamageFireOffset0=0,14

[NATSLA3_A]; Tesla Stinger Active Anim
Image=NATSLA3_A
Normalized=yes
LoopStart=0
LoopEnd=9
LoopCount=-1
Rate=450
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[NATSLA3_AD]; Tesla Stinger Damaged Active Anim
Image=NATSLA3_A
Normalized=yes
Start=10
LoopStart=10
LoopEnd=19
LoopCount=-1
Rate=450
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Shadow=yes

[NATSLA3_B]; Tesla Stinger Firing Anim
Image=NATSLA3_B
Normalized=no; SJM: Must match a hard frame delay in Tesla Coil above. ?No scaling by frame rate.
Start=0
End=9
Rate=300
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Report=TeslaStingerPowerUp
Shadow=yes

[NATSLA3_BD]; Tesla Stinger Damaged Firing Anim
Image=NATSLA3_B
Normalized=no; SJM: Must match a hard frame delay in Tesla Coil above. ?No scaling by frame rate.
Start=10
End=19
Rate=300
Layer=ground
NewTheater=yes
Report=TeslaStingerPowerUp
Shadow=yes


Anyone familiar with this kind of weirdness?

(This post was last modified: 06.10.2005 17:13:58 by DCoder.)
06.10.2005 16:46:52
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private CNCM_BLITZ Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 31
Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
 
I can't see anything besides, you have found a few new bugs. Is this the same logic the siege chopper uses?

07.10.2005 22:51:56
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private Whiteboy Offline
WR Warlord
*****
Members

Posts: 775
Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Reputation: 2
Post: #3
 
No and no.

Apparently the "new rally point established" one is a common unfixable bug, and as for the rest, I changed two tags:

Repairable=false
ClickRepairable=no

And now it's unrepairable in any way (but it does self-heal). One weird thing about it is, if you select an Engineer and hold CTRL+ALT (guard unit function I believe) and click the deployed structure, the Engineer will actually enter it, and never emerge. The structure will not be repaired.

Still, it doesn't matter now. I am satisfied with this unit as it is - the only real problem is the EVA thing. Thanks for reading.

08.10.2005 03:04:19
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #4
 
Just for the record, you can use true/false and yes/no interchangeably, they are equivalent.

08.10.2005 09:58:35
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private Whiteboy Offline
WR Warlord
*****
Members

Posts: 775
Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Reputation: 2
Post: #5
 
Funny, I actually noticed that in my last post and subtly left it there wondering if anyone would notice. You win DCoder! Tongue

08.10.2005 10:23:31
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
~Augusto~
Guest
Guests

No info available...
Post: #6
 
Use ConstructionYard= tag in the building for fix newrallypoint bug.
08.10.2005 17:25:35
Quote this message in a reply
Private CNCM_BLITZ Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 31
Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
 
Won't that cause it to build structures, and allow it to be set to Primary?

09.10.2005 05:45:37
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #8
 
ConstructionYard=yes simply tells the AI that this structure has a AIIonCannonConyardValue= (sp?) chance of being a preferred SW target.
Factory=BuildingType is what allows it to build buildings.

09.10.2005 10:54:36
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Corporal Blade Offline
Senior Member
****
Community Patrons

Posts: 453
Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Reputation: 7
Post: #9
 
I believe it also dictates the facing direction it turns to before deploying.
09.10.2005 15:20:28
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
~mevitar~
Guest
Guests

No info available...
Post: #10
 
no, this is dictated by the DeployFacing=[number] tag
09.10.2005 16:12:58
Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #11
 
True, yet
Code:
Artillary=yes - North-East
ConstructionYard=yes - South-West; don't use - it would trigger the IonCannonConYard targeting.
ICBMLauncher=yes - South-East
SensorArray=yes - South-East
TickTank=yes - North-West
also set a certain facing, and I would imagine they override DeployFacing.

09.10.2005 16:41:14
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Corporal Bobingabout Offline
The Fucking DVD
*****
Community Patrons

Posts: 1 571
Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Reputation: 4
Post: #12
 
isn't the tag also used to determine if it is un-deployable if you set re-deployable MCVs?

10.10.2005 12:33:32
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
~Augusto~
Guest
Guests

No info available...
Post: #13
 
Yes, ConstructionYard tag is affected for re-deploys MCV logic. Activate this option in the skirmish menu and no problems.
11.10.2005 01:40:39
Quote this message in a reply
Private CNCM_BLITZ Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 31
Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
 
I think it is better that you keep things stable, e.g. if somebody doesn't use redployable mcv then it wont work. Try using the other tags. Or better yet, try Siege chopper logic. No guarantees it would work though...

13.10.2005 05:17:15
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private YuriGagarin Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
 
Very easy, add TickTank=yes into the structure code. I made my grizzly battle tank, rhino heavy tank, apoc, howitzer deploy without any problems in my mod. you can change the new rally point established by editing eva.ini.

[MTNK]
UIName=Name:MTNK
Name=Grizzly Battle Tank
Image=GTNK
Prerequisite=GAWEAP
Primary=105mm
Strength=300
Category=AFV
Armor=heavy
Turret=yes
IsTilter=yes
Crusher=yes
TooBigToFitUnderBridge=true
TechLevel=2
Sight=8
Speed=7
CrateGoodie=no
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance
Cost=700
Points=25
ROT=5
IsSelectableCombatant=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUM​U60
VoiceSelect=GenAllVehicleSelect
VoiceMove=GenAllVehicleMove
VoiceAttack=GenAllVehicleAttackCommand
VoiceFeedback=
DieSound=GenVehicleDie
MoveSound=GrizzlyTankMoveStart
MaxDebris=2
; origional - Locomotor={55D141B8-DB94-11d1-AC98-006008055BB5}
Locomotor={4A582741-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
MovementZone=Normal
ThreatPosed=15 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,SIGHT,FASTER
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
Accelerates=false
ImmuneToVeins=yes
Size=3
OpportunityFire=yes
ElitePrimary=105mmE
DeploysInto=DMTK

[DMTK]
Image=NALASR
UIName=Name:MTNK
TickTank=yes
UndeploysInto=MTNK
Name=Depl
BuildCat=Combat
Strength=500
Armor=Concrete
Primary=105mm
ElitePrimary=105mmE
TechLevel=-1
Adjacent=4
ROT=5
Sight=8
DetectDisguise=no
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,Ru​ssians,Confederation,Africans,Arabs
AIBasePlanningSide=1 ;gs 0 for Good, 1 for Evil
Cost=500
BaseNormal=no
Points=25
Power=0
Crewed=no
Capturable=false
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUM​U60
VoiceSelect=GenAllVehicleSelect
VoiceMove=GenAllVehicleMove
VoiceAttack=GenAllVehicleAttackCommand
VoiceFeedback=
DieSound=GenVehicleDieDebrisAnims=DBRIS4LG,DBRIS4S​M,DBRIS6LG
MaxDebris=2
MinDebris=1
Turret=yes
TurretAnim=GTNKTUR
TurretAnimIsVoxel=true
TurretAnimY=10
TurretAnimZAdjust=-20
ThreatPosed=30 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
HasStupidGuardMode=false
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
VeteranAbilities=STRONGER,FIREPOWER,SIGHT
EliteAbilities=SELF_HEAL,STRONGER,FIREPOWER,ROF
ImmuneToVeins=yes
Trainable=yes
ClickRepairable=yes

You still can't click repair or capture it because it is a tick tank.
(This post was last modified: 14.03.2006 06:14:23 by YuriGagarin.)
13.03.2006 15:58:28
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)