The internet is a lawless place with knowledge and sarcastic wit the pistols of this wild frontier.
Don't go out without being sufficiently armed.

~Blade

Other places

Ares (Current version: 0.B)

Ares's primary facilities have been moved elsewhere:

  • If you wish to report a bug in Ares, please proceed to its bugtracker.
  • If you'd like to request a feature, register a blueprint.
  • If you have questions or can provide answers regarding Ares's usage, visit the Q&A section.
  • Before you post a new question, you should check the FAQ, though.

Behavior

  • Mind the forum rules.
  • Due to its documentedly horrible quality, we do not offer NPatch support.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Random factoids about YR
Author Message
Private Vinifera7 Offline
Member
***
Members

Posts: 159
Joined: 4 Aug 2006
Reputation: 2
Post: #16
RE: Random factoids about YR
Thanks for the awesome info! From my testing it also seems that the Napalm powerup is hardcoded to use the first animation listed in [Animations].

[Image: alexstand1.gif]
09.04.2008 11:19:25
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #17
RE: Random factoids about YR
Small random fact I just investigated, thanks to Marshall for bringing it to my attention and Carnotaurus for testing: an IFV cannot have a sane Mind Control mode - if you assign Weapon1 a weapon that can do Mind Control, it will be able to MC properly whenever the current weapon mode allows it to, but the link will not be cleared upon passenger exit, and other weapons will work fine without breaking the link. Assigning a non-MC weapon to Weapon1 will result in IEs whenever another mode attempts to use an MC weapon. Just a note if someone feels like formalizing it on ModEnc.

10.05.2008 19:10:33
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
~Guest~
Guest
Guests

No info available...
Post: #18
RE: Random factoids about YR
"Action 45 - Ion Storm Stop: Doesn't defer functionality to Lighting Storm, seemingly just clears some internal flag, possibly one that tracks whether an Ion Storm is active."

You know when one Lightning Storm is active, the player is unable to activate another? Perhaps this can somehow allow 2 simultaneous Weather Storms to be fired at once. Might be worth looking into. I know this is an old thread, but I've only just seen it. (Sorry for the bump).

As I understand, the fact that only one Weather Storm can be active at one time is hard-coded?
25.08.2008 13:26:40
Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #19
RE: Random factoids about YR
The fact that only one Weather Storm can be active is hard coded, yes, due to the fact that WW used global variables (at C++ level) for this.

25.08.2008 15:18:34
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private MRMIdAS Offline
Senior Member
****
Members

Posts: 379
Joined: 29 May 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #20
RE: Random factoids about YR
(31.01.2008 22:52:13)DCoder Wrote:  
  • AI:[list]
  • Script Actions:[list]
  • Load Into Transport:[list]
  • tries to shove all units into the first unit of this taskforce, gives up as soon as that fails.

Shouldn't that be unit at "1="?

the first unit in the taskforce is at "0=" which by my testing, never works......

[Image: MRMIdAS2k.jpg]
MRMIdAS: No longer allowed to criticise Westwood on PPM
26.08.2008 02:07:26
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #21
RE: Random factoids about YR
Subtle hint: It would be nice if someone made sure ModEnc contains all these tidbits of data.

01.03.2009 22:40:17
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sergeant Nighthawk Offline
Automatic Greeting System
****
Moderators

Posts: 572
Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Reputation: 4
Post: #22
RE: Random factoids about YR
There, that should be the good majority of the non-map stuff in now.

Ares Project Manager.
[Image: t3wbanner.png]
[Image: cncgsigsb_sml.png]
Open Ares positions: Documentation Maintainer, Active Testers.
PM if interested.
08.03.2009 01:18:12
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #23
RE: Random factoids about YR
Thank you!

08.03.2009 09:29:45
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private AlliedG Offline
Member
***
Members

Posts: 132
Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
RE: Random factoids about YR
Well just some information add in regards to FA2 - Action 16 Reveal All Map causes a recon error online
14.06.2009 00:09:55
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private MRMIdAS Offline
Senior Member
****
Members

Posts: 379
Joined: 29 May 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #25
RE: Random factoids about YR
(26.08.2008 02:07:26)MRMIdAS Wrote:  
(31.01.2008 22:52:13)DCoder Wrote:  
  • AI:[list]
  • Script Actions:[list]
  • Load Into Transport:[list]
  • tries to shove all units into the first unit of this taskforce, gives up as soon as that fails.

Shouldn't that be unit at "1="?

the first unit in the taskforce is at "0=" which by my testing, never works......

can anyone get the same results as me?

I'm pretty sure this works as I described, as WW's taskforces use it, but I'd like confirmation from someone else.

thanks.

[Image: MRMIdAS2k.jpg]
MRMIdAS: No longer allowed to criticise Westwood on PPM
14.06.2009 02:29:18
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
~Guest~
Guest
Guests

No info available...
Post: #26
RE: Random factoids about YR
NoAutoFire = , AutoCrush =, anyone else know what this is?

"DemandLoad = if set, the SHP will not be cached on map load, but loaded from disk when needed.", so if it set to yes, does it game goes smoother?
29.11.2010 18:54:08
Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #27
RE: Random factoids about YR
DemandLoad is not read from the INI at all, it's internally set to zero at startup and never changed.

30.11.2010 07:19:14
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private lilyroads Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
RE: Random factoids about YR
interesting
18.07.2011 15:51:56
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)