The internet is a lawless place with knowledge and sarcastic wit the pistols of this wild frontier.
Don't go out without being sufficiently armed.

~Blade

Other places

Ares (Current version: 0.B)

Ares's primary facilities have been moved elsewhere:

  • If you wish to report a bug in Ares, please proceed to its bugtracker.
  • If you'd like to request a feature, register a blueprint.
  • If you have questions or can provide answers regarding Ares's usage, visit the Q&A section.
  • Before you post a new question, you should check the FAQ, though.

Behavior

  • Mind the forum rules.
  • Due to its documentedly horrible quality, we do not offer NPatch support.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Tooltip problem
Author Message
Private EliteSoldier Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Tooltip problem
Hi, up until the latest Ares release I was sure it was just impossible, but now it seems as though it is a specific problem for me.
I'm referring to the in-game tooltips - when I hover over some unit and *should* get a couple of words with its name. This simply does not work for me, for some odd reason.
While I don't know whether it's a problem with Yuri or Ares, it still is a problem I'd like to fix (especially if I'm to use the new tooltip colors).

Thanks for any insight!
16.09.2013 10:00:32
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ares Tester Graion Dilach Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 317
Joined: 2 May 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #2
RE: Tooltip problem
Hmmm... could you show codes of the actual units with this bug? And you sure the CSF is well set?
17.09.2013 17:42:27
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private EliteSoldier Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Tooltip problem
Perhaps I was not clear enough - ALL tooltips aren't showing. Now I think it might be a bug with the game itself, as I think even without any modes they still aren't showing.

Edit:
Tried running the game with -LOG, started a 1 player skirmish and exited right away. debug.log stated multiple changes to "Tooltips", as in "Tooltips are on" and "Tooltips are off" several times,
the latest being "off". That might be the problem, however I still do not know where to look for a solution...
(This post was last modified: 20.09.2013 12:51:12 by EliteSoldier.)
18.09.2013 17:47:14
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ares Tester Graion Dilach Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 317
Joined: 2 May 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #4
RE: Tooltip problem
Have you checked the Tooltips option in Options page?
21.09.2013 17:10:52
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private EliteSoldier Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Tooltip problem
(21.09.2013 17:10:52)Graion Dilach Wrote:  Have you checked the Tooltips option in Options page?

Well obviously.
21.09.2013 20:21:03
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ares Tester Graion Dilach Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 317
Joined: 2 May 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #6
RE: Tooltip problem
Could you recheck it with 0.3?

If that fixes it, please submit a bugreport.
23.09.2013 11:02:14
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private EliteSoldier Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Tooltip problem
Looks like this problem is more difficult to solve....
Ten minutes ago I finished installing RA2 on my WinXP laptop and started the game right after the installation was done.
I then made sure the "tooltips" button was checked in the options screen and proceeded to start a skirmish.
.... There were no tooltips.

Mind you, this is a fresh install from a disc I bought back in 2001, without any updates or mods whatsoever, and no compatibility.
I simply double-clicked Ra2.exe.

Could anyone shed some light on this? At this point I'm officially out of ideas.
(This post was last modified: 23.09.2013 19:55:52 by EliteSoldier.)
23.09.2013 19:54:48
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ares Tester Graion Dilach Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 317
Joined: 2 May 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #8
RE: Tooltip problem
24.09.2013 01:09:43
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private EliteSoldier Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Tooltip problem
Unfortunately after trying both methods shown in the references you gave
(many thanks, I never found these two threads before), the problem persists.
24.09.2013 12:58:33
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private EliteSoldier Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Tooltip problem
Graion, could you perhaps start Yuri's with ares logging, start a skirmish on some map,
hover your mouse over a unit to display the tooltip and then abort and exit the game?
I would like to compare the log from your working tooltip state to mine own, that is if you have no objection...
13.10.2013 23:15:49
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ares Tester Graion Dilach Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 317
Joined: 2 May 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #11
RE: Tooltip problem
Sorry, had no time to pop up here. And I'm at uni atm...

I doubt it would show a difference. I'll do one when I'll get home.
11.11.2013 12:01:25
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)