The internet is a lawless place with knowledge and sarcastic wit the pistols of this wild frontier.
Don't go out without being sufficiently armed.

~Blade

Other places

Ares (Current version: 0.B)

Ares's primary facilities have been moved elsewhere:

  • If you wish to report a bug in Ares, please proceed to its bugtracker.
  • If you'd like to request a feature, register a blueprint.
  • If you have questions or can provide answers regarding Ares's usage, visit the Q&A section.
  • Before you post a new question, you should check the FAQ, though.

Behavior

  • Mind the forum rules.
  • Due to its documentedly horrible quality, we do not offer NPatch support.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
Author Message
Private Radaral Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
I just got a new computer and windows 7 and I've been unable to get it to work. I fixed the compatibility settings and It will open the run ares but then close and no Yuri's revenge will load. I've tryed alot of things but none work.
23.05.2011 01:24:54
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ares Tester Graion Dilach Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 317
Joined: 2 May 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #2
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
Upload a syringe.log and a debug.log please.

Unlike YR, Ares doesn't need compatibility mode to set (if you have compat mode enabled on Syringe or gamemd, disable them).
23.05.2011 11:41:14
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private Radaral Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
Uh I can upload those but first you should know the black screen closes, the logs say it patched successfully but when I load the game I get missing noastr and the unit name meaning the no string tag stopped working which tells me no ares patch running.

Also the gamemd.exe remains last modified 2001 so that means the syringe isn't patching it though it claims it does. it could be stupid windows 7 safety settings but I'm sure I already allowed them to go through for that program.
(This post was last modified: 23.05.2011 17:18:48 by Radaral.)
23.05.2011 16:51:00
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #4
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
Quote:Ares is incorporated into Yuri's Revenge via the use of Syringe, a program developed by pd to 'inject' DLL code into a running executable without modifying the executable itself.

23.05.2011 19:44:38
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ares Tester Graion Dilach Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 317
Joined: 2 May 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #5
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
You have Ares.dll, Ares.dll.inj and syringe.exe in your RA2 folder, right?

Get Total Commander, get into your RA2 dir, and type: syringe.exe, gamemd.exe -log.
(This post was last modified: 23.05.2011 22:02:32 by Graion Dilach.)
23.05.2011 22:01:38
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private Radaral Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
(23.05.2011 19:44:38)DCoder Wrote:  
Quote:Ares is incorporated into Yuri's Revenge via the use of Syringe, a program developed by pd to 'inject' DLL code into a running executable without modifying the executable itself.

I see, it starts to run then closes before launching the game which is why it's not working. I'll try that total command unless you have any better ideas. there's a very high probability it's a windows 7 problem or possibly a comodo firewall but the thing is I turned it off and tryed running it and now dice, even run as an adminstrator.
23.05.2011 23:40:09
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief Renegade Offline
Lazy Modder
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 906
Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Reputation: 14
Post: #7
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
DINGDINGDINGDINGDING
You said the magic word!

http://forums.renegadeprojects.com/showt...3#pid17563
http://forums.renegadeprojects.com/showt...1#pid17991

Funny what a forum search could turn up if it were done, eh?

Forum Rules

(01.06.2011 05:43:25)kenosis Wrote:  Oh damn don't be disgraced again!

(25.06.2011 20:42:59)Nighthawk Wrote:  The proverbial bearded omni-bug may be dead, but the containment campaign is still being waged in the desert.
24.05.2011 01:04:27
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
~Guest~
Guest
Guests

No info available...
Post: #8
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
I uninstalled and reinstalled Comodo firewall and it still won't run. HELP! somebody I cannot get ares to work with that comodo firewall. nothing is working, not even uninstalling and reinstalling.
25.05.2011 18:21:18
Quote this message in a reply
Private Radaral Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
(25.05.2011 18:21:18)Guest Wrote:  I uninstalled and reinstalled Comodo firewall and it still won't run. HELP! somebody I cannot get ares to work with that comodo firewall. nothing is working, not even uninstalling and reinstalling.

Damnit I forgot to log in again but I'm thinking if I'm having this problem and I'm the one designing my mod. imagine the problems a player with comodo firewall plus windows 7 together would have running my mod. I think you guys need to make a script that edits the registry to block all security from affecting your Ares syringe patch and even Red Alert 2 or Yuris Revenge as well.
25.05.2011 18:30:21
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ares Tester Graion Dilach Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 317
Joined: 2 May 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #10
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
I disagree.

If you are a LaunchBase user, then putting that script to LB makes more sense. If you use stand-alone, then you, as the mod writer should create that script to ensure that thing works.

Neither way Ares should care about that.

OTOH, Comodo must be a NA something... I've never heard about it.
25.05.2011 18:53:56
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief Renegade Offline
Lazy Modder
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 906
Joined: 21 Nov 2004
Reputation: 14
Post: #11
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
Yeah, I'm sure Ares will totally look like a legit program once it starts disabling all security on execution... Rolling eyes

Forum Rules

(01.06.2011 05:43:25)kenosis Wrote:  Oh damn don't be disgraced again!

(25.06.2011 20:42:59)Nighthawk Wrote:  The proverbial bearded omni-bug may be dead, but the containment campaign is still being waged in the desert.
25.05.2011 19:06:47
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private Radaral Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
No it won't look like a legit program. However there's an option to allow the Comodo firewall to allow it to let something run. Which should allow it to edit the registry to prevent it from blocking certain things. Although you do get what you pay for too so maybe I should get a real firewall but it should be known Comodo does out preform the Nortan Firewall that comes with the Anti Virus. Again alot of people use Comodo so alot of people now won't be able to use that Ares you made. but as for me I get what I pay for so I could get a different firewall and actually pay for something, but alot of people would rather just not use the Ares trademark you have created.
(This post was last modified: 25.05.2011 19:39:03 by Radaral.)
25.05.2011 19:38:11
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Commander-in-Chief DCoder Offline
Not Ares Anymore
*****
Admins

Posts: 1 756
Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #13
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
The links Renegade posted explain the exact solution. The only additional action I'm willing to do is add this message to Syringe: "This won't work because your security suite is overprotective, RTFM to solve the problem!" ... which would not be a smart thing to do before 0.2 .

25.05.2011 20:01:00
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Private Radaral Offline
Junior Member
**
Members

Posts: 22
Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
(25.05.2011 20:01:00)DCoder Wrote:  The links Renegade posted explain the exact solution. The only additional action I'm willing to do is add this message to Syringe: "This won't work because your security suite is overprotective, RTFM]RTFM[/url] to solve the problem!" ... which would not be a smart thing to do before 0.2 .
To find out more I'll use the search feature. Thanks for everything so far.
25.05.2011 20:58:16
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
~Guest~
Guest
Guests

No info available...
Post: #15
RE: I start the run Ares. but then after a minute it closes and no sucess
Btw I came back today and did that one guys fix and it worked perfectly.
17.06.2011 11:49:58
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)