Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
amphibious transport
I created an amphibious transport that only travels on water, my only problem is that when I bring it to the shore the troops move towards it but will not board it. Is this because of the shoreline? Do I have to create a new shoreline piece? Which number do I place as the terrain type?
The reason it's not working is because the transport isn't on land, and the units are.

I'm not sure how to fix this, or if it's even possible, but I Highly doubt it.
[Image: MRMIdAS2k.jpg]
MRMIdAS: No longer allowed to criticise Westwood on PPM
well at the moment i am in the middle of other projects, but i was thinking about the water/shoreline bridges that appear water but you can walk across. I have never used them before, I make city maps. I guess I will have to wait until someone can help me or I decide to make a different style map, thanks anyway.
Disclaimer: Last I tried this, I did not get it to work.

However, my approach was fixing the beach terrain parts to allow infantry to walk on them ([Beach] -> Foot=50%, this is realistic since humans can usually walk over beaches and go into shallow water, but looks funny when they go too far), and then setting the transport's MovementZone to FloatBeach (again, this is absolutely realistic - boats have approached beaches since the first float was built). Alternatively, you could could change the beach's Float/Amphibious= percentages, but using FloatBeach is more elegant, since it is a dedicated MovementZone exactly for that purpose.
As far as I remember, I did get both types to be on the same tiles (the beach tiles), but for some reason, the infantry guys didn't enter the transport. If you can find out/fix the reason for that, you should be good to go. (Tanya, however, could enter the transports, due to her swimming abilities.)

Look at
Forum Rules

(01.06.2011, 05:43:25)kenosis Wrote: Oh damn don't be disgraced again!